Posted by: detailsbyhartman | November 2, 2008

Hooray for Homemade Halloweens

I always wanted to be one of those clever people who created their own Halloween costumes but sadly I just wasn’t.  Nearly every year growing up, I would wait until trick-or-treat afternoon before even thinking about my costume.  Inevitably I ended up going out dressed as a baby, with pajamas, teddy bear, and my hair in pigtails.  Ugh.  Boring.  This year I was proud and excited to create a homemade costume and I felt fairly certain I would be the only one dressed as I was.  I don’t exactly know why but I was thinking of a use for a roll of plastic tablecloth that I had and the idea of a picnic costume came to me nearly fully developed.  I wonder if I’m the only person in history that dressed as a picnic?  Jonathan was, as he is in all things, my partner in this endeavor; he constructed the frame just as I envisioned it and helped with the finishing details.

 My picnic basket held homemade chocolate chip cookies.

 My favorite part of the costume were the ants that crawled all over and even trailed up my shirt.

 

Send me pictures of your creative costumes (pets also welcome) and I’ll post them here.  Please, PG13 or gentler.

file0202

Me in another homemade costume 30some years ago.  I’m the cute kitty in the middle.  The indian princess holding me is my mom.  My aunt Vic is the mummy; Scooby Doo is my brother, Steve; and my cousin Shawn is …well I don’t know what he is.

Responses

  1. Did anyone pull up a chair? Or maybe a pic nic bench would be more apropriate.

  2. Everyone kept trying to set their drink on me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

